Economic Impact Study
The report examining the economic impact of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act is now available here. The study, prepared by the W.P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University, includes the analysis of actual sales data for restaurants and bars, and the results of a survey of owners and managers of restaurants and bars in Arizona that was conducted prior the implementation of the Act and repeated one year later. The report also includes a literature review on the effects of tobacco regulations on the hospitality industry in the United States and in other countries. Click here to view the entire report.
Smoking is not allowed in most enclosed public places and places of employment including (but not limited to):
Tips for Going Smoke Free
Inform your employees about the Law. Some effective ways to communicate with your employees are listed below:
The ASHLine web site, www.ashline.org, provides expert advice on quitting strategies for smokers, advice for non-smokers who are supporting someone trying to quit, and tips for healthcare providers. The web site also provides free fact sheets, and links to local tobacco cessation projects.
Videos About Smoke-Free Establishments
To view educational videos about businesses with a smoke-free environment click here.
What you need to do to comply with the Law
To make this transition as easy as possible for your employees, customers or visitors, it’s important to effectively communicate information about the new Law and your establishment’s responsibility in complying with the Law. The better you know and understand the Law, the easier it will be you to explain the Law to your employees. Here are some helpful tips you can share with your employees:
The public is encouraged to report businesses that are not in compliance with the Smoke-Free Arizona Act to the Arizona Department of Health Services. Complainants may choose to remain anonymous. County health departments are in charge of investigating complaints about violations of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. The county health department will notify the business owner about the complaint, and/or conduct an inspection within 15 days after receipt of the complaint.
Complaints may be reported to the Arizona Department of Health Services by:
If a violation is found, the business owner will receive a warning notice and is subject to fines between $100 to $500 per violation per day or up to $5,000 per violation per day if a Superior Court determines there is a pattern of noncompliance. An individual who smokes where prohibited is guilty of a petty offense and may be fined between $50 to $300.
To view the rules click here.